Quantcast
Pro Tools 10 changes/dulls guitar sound??? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Pro Tools 10 changes/dulls guitar sound???
Old 27th January 2013
Here for the gear

๐ŸŽง 5 years
Pro Tools 10 changes/dulls guitar sound???

Newbie here to the site,

I have an Line 6 HD 500 POD that I want to use for recording.
When I use POD's XLR's outputs to a Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 preamps 1 and 2
and have Pro Tools 10 setup to use the Saffire via firewire, the sound is duller than compared to when I hook it up to Garageband.
This tells me something in Pro Tools is changing the sound, (Pro Tools drivers?)
I'm not sure what is going on but in Garageband the HD500 sounds great, especially if i use a convoltution plugin with impulse response files. I have also tried this in Pro Tools with mixIR2 and impulse response files.

Is Pro Tools giving me a "true" sound or is Garageband coloring the sound to sound clear and pronounced.

Sorry for the ignorance but I would like to use the HD500 and Pro Tools to do my recording, as I have tried many plugins with IRs in Pro Tools and If I could achieve the same sound as I got in Garageband, and have that come thru in Pro Tools, I could be a happy camper.

Also, I use Mackie HR824's, but shouldn't have anything to do with this.

Any help would be appreciated,
Thanks,
BMoe
Old 27th January 2013
Gear Maniac

๐ŸŽง 5 years
This sounds strange to me. Ive never heard this. If this was the case no one would be using pro tools lol. Only thing I could think of if its that major of a difference is maybe there is EQ on the master in the garage band template? Thats a pure guess though.
Old 27th January 2013
Lives for gear

๐ŸŽง 5 years