Daisy Chaining Midi and RCA - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Daisy Chaining Midi and RCA
Old 25th January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Daisy Chaining Midi and RCA

Hey Guys,

King Noob here. I was planning on connecting my Yamaha my QY70 to my paKOntrol via midi, then to my SP404sx via MIDI, then to my Kaossillator pro via RCA, then to my KP3 via RCA, then to my Multi-track recorder DP008 via RCA.

Does this connection work? Since I have zero experience, and since I haven't received my equipment yet, I don't know if a mixture of midi and RCA connections is viable. And yes I've searched the Internet for this info and I couldn't find anything. I think it's just one of those pieces of information that is just so rudimentary, that nobody even really addresses it.

I apologize in advance if anyone is utterly annoyed by this post.
Old 25th January 2013
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
MIDI is a control protocol and does not contain audio.

RCA connectors can be used for both unbalanced analog audio as well as S/PDIF digital audio.

You can chain MIDI instruments via MIDI in/out/thru connections but no audio is being handled--just control information like: what key/button is engaged and things like how hard and for how long, etc. This is not sound.

You could hit START/STOP on one MIDI-equipped device and have it control the same function of another unit. You could hit C3 on one keyboard and have another play the same note. Sequencers control synths and sound modules this way.

Audio is a different story. Digital audio is not compatible with analog audio so the signals are not interchangeable despite the fact that they may use the same connector type (like RCA or XLR).

The DP008 has two analog 1/4" inputs and two XLR inputs (no digital). These are the only audio inputs. The pair of RCA connectors are for audio output only. You'll have to make due with the limitation for simultaneous inputs, but you can always overdub more parts subsequently.