Quantcast
Apogee Symphony I/O Questions, Please Help! - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Apogee Symphony I/O Questions, Please Help!
Old 23rd January 2013
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
Apogee Symphony I/O Questions, Please Help!

So I'm looking at getting new I/O and since the Ensemble is now discontinued I might be looking at getting the Symphony. I'm really new to this whole thing I've had a focusrite Saffire Pro 40 for the last 3 years or so and there something wrong with in internally and at the moment I'm in Alberta Canada making better money that I usually would so I want to get something really good.

I need 16 in 16 out. Do I have to get the 16x16 module for that or can I use ADAT and connect my ADA8000 for utility pre's and then get another module down the road to replace it. I see theres Optical out. What exactly does that mean and how do I connect Microphones to it. Tell me some options. I've been trying to research this and I've found a few answers but I'm still a little in the dark if this is even the right unit for me.
Old 23rd January 2013
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
Can I connect mic pre's to the AES in? what exactly is that for, just running effect through like an aux bus on a mixer?
Old 23rd January 2013
70% Coffee, 30% Beer

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylanger ➑️
So I'm looking at getting new I/O and since the Ensemble is now discontinued I might be looking at getting the Symphony. I'm really new to this whole thing I've had a focusrite Saffire Pro 40 for the last 3 years or so and there something wrong with in internally and at the moment I'm in Alberta Canada making better money that I usually would so I want to get something really good.