Quantcast
SDC shootout for classical guitar - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
SDC shootout for classical guitar
Old 18th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
Small diaphragm condenser mic shootout for classical guitar

I hope that this shootout, though neither scientific nor complete in any way, may help you find the right microphone for your purposes, or in the very least, provides some fun!

The guitar
The guitar is a rather bright sounding Prudencio Saez ‘Model 85’ supplied with Augustine Red strings.

The guitarist
I’m not a pro player, as you can tell. I played as consistent as I could. I use my nails and this is audible in the attack of the picking.

The piece
‘Lágrima’ by Francis Tarrega. It has both a low E and a high one, which will hopefully contribute to revealing the microphones’ qualities (or lack thereoff). I limited the takes to just the A en B part each once, for obvious reasons.

The room
The recordings were made in an untreated, pretty small living room with lots of stone and smooth surfaces. Some nasty reflections occur, and there’s quite some bass build-up in the corners. Overall, this room sucks for recording purposes (I will not evaluate the ‘living’ purposes here, but they suck too). For this shootout, I don’t believe that’s a problem though: this way, there’s an opportunity to compare the microphones in less-than-ideal circumstances.

Placement