Quantcast
Good USB or Firewire Microphone that hooks up to a computer? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Good USB or Firewire Microphone that hooks up to a computer?
Old 15th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Good USB or Firewire Microphone that hooks up to a computer?

Hey guys,

I have been recording hip hop tracks in Audacity for a few years now with a crappy 90 dollar microphone that hooks up to my computer via USB. I recently got a mac and was hoping to reinvest in another microphone. I have been considering options that would give me better sound quality while recording.

I looked into purchasing the following set up, which I think was going to run me about 300 dollars or so:
- Avid recording studio
- Perception 220
- pop filter

Does anybody know if there are any high quality microphones that would directly hook up to my computer (either via USB or firewire, whichever is better)? I would greatly prefer to hook directly up to the computer for a couple reasons. One motivation is that I wouldn't have to learn new equipment/programs. Another is that I live in a small apartment with thin walls and usually recording in my apartment isn't an option. Most of the recording I do I actually do in my car in an abandoned parking lot near my house. So having a lot of equipment might cramp my style a little bit.

Please let me know what you guys think. Should I get the whole set up or is there something that can get me 99% of the way there that's easier/cheaper?

Any advice people can give me on good products to buy or good online stores to buy them from please let me know. Are there any good places to buy used equipment that's guaranteed to be in good shape?

Thanks for anybody who took the time to read this.

-d
Old 15th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Just to add

Also, if anybody knows about XLR technology, let me know if that's something I should be involved with...
Old 16th September 2012
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years