Quantcast
How to connect Tube Amp combo to DAW? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
How to connect Tube Amp combo to DAW?
Old 11th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
How to connect Tube Amp combo to DAW?

Hi, Im a noob when it comes to routing so need some help, I'm going to buy a Bugera 6262 combo tube amp and I want to record my guitar on cubase, but I don't want to mic it up cause I heard there are ways to silence the speaker output of my amp by connecting a DI box input into the send of the FX loop and output of the DI box to the return of the FX loop, and then the XLR output to my audio interface, but I'm not 100% if this works. So I just need someone who has done this, or has knowledge of how to make the connections. Thank you
Old 11th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Nope..

If you want it to sound like the amp you won you have to mic it.
In order to capture the power section and speaker (tone) which is what you like about the amp and capturing the air around it.. You need to mic it.

I don't know the amp you have so I don't know what you were asking.
But any amp even if they say it's designed for a DI output while sound like crap if you ask me..

It would be more like a Pod type direct sound.
The amp will have to have a resistor in the amp chassis somewhere to act as the load if that speaker can be turned off. If not then you don't want to turn off or disconnect the speaker. Tube amps have to have the impedance load from the speaker if you don't want to kill your power section.

I would mic it.. If it's about volume issue. Maybe you can record your gtr DI'd into Cubase listening with an amp simulator on while tracking.
Then later when no one is around and you can mic the amp.. Reamp it with a reamp box and send that DI (without amp sim) back to amp and then mic it.
Old 11th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years