The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Building a pro recording studio - I don't know what I really need
Old 23rd January 2021
Here for the gear

Building a pro recording studio - I don't know what I really need

Good morning, everyone

I'm a newbie when it comes to audio equipments. I really hope this is the right thread to post it.

This year I'm building a profissional recording studio with help of many people. I'm really excited to start this business and we are also willing to buy great equipments. However, this week I've faced many problems. Some people say to me that for a recording studio, I would only need a digital mixer as it already have an audio interface build-in and preamps. In the other hand, some people say that I need a digital mixer, another audio interface (yes, not the digital mixer), preamps and so on...

I can't imagine myself recording more than 6 people at the same time. We are focusing on recording stuff, I do not think we are going to work on live shows, but maybe would be good as well.
We are building this studio mostly for voice-overs, singing and recording some instruments.

I already have this audio interface: Steinberg AXR4U. But the person that is helping me getting the equipments told me that I also would need a digital mixer. He told me to get a Midas M32R. I was thinking about getting a Allen & Heath SQ-5. As for preamps I can't decide between "Great River MP-500NV 500" and "focusrite isa two".

I don't know who I should believe. These are not cheap equipments. If I can only use a digital mixer that would be great, but it is so weird that I couldn't find a recording studio on youtube that uses a digital mixer. I saw people using a "DAW Controller" on the studio.

I currently have three rooms, two for recordings and one for mixing/mastering

Sorry for my bad English, I wish someone could help me understand what I really need.