Interface for composition - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Interface for composition
Old 30th January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Interface for composition

Hey all!

So, I'm starting over with all my equipment, interface, monitors, PC, everything.

And I've been scouring the forums here and there for equipment recommendations but haven't quite found exactly what I'm looking for.

Essentially, I am a starting composer using Sibelius/Sample Libraries. I normally use a Windows laptop, and will be building a composition PC in the near future. Right now I am looking to get an interface with monitors to increase the quality of the audio and stop using Windows audio. I will also be doing some recording of instruments here and there, sometimes one or two, other times a 5-piece band setting.. I'd prefer a small mobile interface so I can take it with my laptop, and also use it with my desktop as well. I will also need monitors that will not be mobile.

And lastly, I would prefer to keep it under 500 USD. I have some leeway with that amount but it would have to be for something well worth the extra expenditure. Any and all help is appreciated, thank you!
Old 30th January 2013
Gear Maniac

🎧 5 years
If you're going to have many MIDI tracks and sample libraries going on, you'll need an interface with stable drivers and low latency. I'd consider getting Komplete Audio 6, a really good USB interface from Native Instruments (clean, detailed sound and low-latency stable drivers). Nothing (in terms of sound quality and drivers) touches it until RME Babyface, which costs 3 times more than Komplete Audio 6.

If you want more inputs/outputs, take a look at Focusrite and PreSonus interfaces.

You might also want to take a look at this:

Old 30th January 2013
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 10 years