Some Hard disk questions - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Some Hard disk questions
Old 19th May 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Some Hard disk questions

Hey Guys,

couple of questions. First of all, is it possible to un partion a drive while keeping data intact and problem free? Second of all is there a limit to how many drives you should have in a system?

Also is it possible to set the drives up as a raid system without disrupting data, is raid system reccomended for internal drives if one is acting as a session drive, the other sound library and the other system etc ?

And last, is it possible to tell if a drive is sata2 or sata3 by just looking at the drive?

Thanks guys!!
Old 19th May 2013
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
Im a PC repair tech when not recording so I feel the need to chime in here lol. You cannot have data on a drive that has no partition. To "unpartition" a drive would be the equivalent of erasing it.

The only limit to internal drive is the number of sata connections you have (you can even add sata pci cards, but then you would be splitting the pci bus between added drives and you interface)

Having DAW/OS on one drive and audio recorded to another is a basic necessity, RAID is a backup method that creates redundancy in your disks if one should fail (google raid0) if you can afford the extra drives it's very good to do.

To figure out sata2 or sata3 youll have to reference the part number in the mfg website, some discs might reference the speed on the top label but its not likely.

Sent from my DROIDX
Old 19th May 2013
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years