Hardware Crisis, Enough Is Enough - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Hardware Crisis, Enough Is Enough
Old 27th January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Hardware Crisis, Enough Is Enough

Good Evening!

First of, My name is Campbell. I'm a Sound Production Student from Scotland who plans to go into the film/games industry. I use a lot of VST instruments but also use a lot of recordings and samples.

Now, Straight into my problem.

For about 3 years now i have had a Saffire Pro 40, 2 of them years was on a macbook with hardly any use. It was then in April 2012 put onto a Windows 7 Machine. Focusrite support became my best friend but as of November i gave up. Constant drop outs and horrible stability almost made me cry.

I then decided to buy an M-Audio ProjectMix I/O. Mistake.... Big mistake. The Latency on it was superb i'll give it that. Everything else? Nuclear Disaster site... Audio Output quality is less than par, the pre-amps are naff and stability is unbelievably abysmal.

So now my conclusion is, SCREW YOU FIREWIRE!

So now i ask you people, Where should i go from here?
I was looking at the Scarlett Replacement for the Pro 40 and was thinking that's maybe the way to go however i'm very open to suggestions.
I've came to realise that i don't need all the inputs and outputs though so i'm okay going for something the same price or higher with lower inputs, as long as the quality of the device is high and stability is very good.

Feel free to ask me questions if I've missed anything or if you want to ask me specifics, i realise that I've probably missed out alot of key info, i'm very tired at the moment

Thanks in advance guys

Campbell heh
Old 28th January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Anyone?
Old 28th January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
P.I.C.N.I.C