Quantcast
Halion 4 vs Kontakt 5 & Laptop advice needed! - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Halion 4 vs Kontakt 5 & Laptop advice needed!
Old 26th January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Halion 4 vs Kontakt 5 & Laptop advice needed!

Greetings, I am somewhat new to computer music setups and could use some advice. I have a Yamaha MO6 ROMpler which uses the Motif ES engine with no bonus controllers, no sampling, and only 64 note polyphony which I can eat up fast on my custom patches using Performance Mode (4 voices) using 4 patches each using 4 elements(thus down to 4 polyphony for those). This is primarily for ones where I fatten up the brass sections in a big way for "oomf". I have decided that rather than going with a dedicated workstation I'd go the PC route.

In addition to my Yamaha MO6 which I intend to gig with I have now acquired a Novation Impulse 61 MIDI controller for PC use. It comes with Ableton Live Lite 8, some Novation soft-synths (VA), and their Automap software. I now need to buy a LAPTOP, and a SAMPLER. I am a "live" musician, not a full MIDI DAW studio production one, so the emphasis is LIVE play. No loop-based production, drums, etc, just basically looking for an uber-smart sampler so I can have more sounds for mapping (MO6 = 4 part, 4 elements each), better polyphony, some clip-launching (Ableton + Impulse + Automap does this natively), and hopefully some minor scripting to make controlling it live friendly.

This in mind I suspect that using the DAW it came with will probably be fine for a while at least.