Quantcast
DAW's Vs. Discrete Recording - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
DAW's Vs. Discrete Recording
Old 22nd January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
DAW's Vs. Discrete Recording

I am one of those odd ducks. I am a keyboardist/composer/producer with a complete home studio. Complete in the sense that I have all the playing/recording/mixing hardware EXCEPT for the use of a DAW. I do have Cubase 7, but do not use it. My main keyboard is a Yamaha Motif XS7. Have numerous outboard synths/effects/tube Mic pre, 2 consoles - one used as a submixer/effects manager, the other is a 2488 neo 24 track digital mixer/recorder. I sequence using the Motif in 16 tracks, do all my editing of those 16 tracks on the Motif. Dump the whole mix into a stereo digital pair on the 24 track neo. Add tracks (vocals, etc) on the 22 tracks left on the 2488. Monitor on a pair of HS80M's.
I have had good results with this setup, as I am mainly a composer, and a keyboardist of many years. I do best recording quickly - when the mood is right on the Motif, then add other tracks to complete, and do my final mixes on the 2488. Note that I can bounce tracks on the 2488 without adding noise floor, and gain a lot more tracks, but I rarely need to.
I know there are lots of features on Cubase and other good DAW's, that I could probably use to my benefit. But with all these tracks, and good editing capabilities, my question is am I really missing out not using a DAW? I would have to add a channel input card to my computer to multi-track audio and not just midi. From my view, the channel cards are all very limited - have to unplug discretes and re-plug when changing synths, etc. Any feedback to my direction and results would be appreciated. Thanks - Production.
Old 22nd January 2013
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Production ➑️