The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
CME UF8 Keyboard Controller??
Old 16th July 2006
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
CME UF8 Keyboard Controller??

I am a classically trained pianist. I need a new keyboard MIDI controller that has REAL PIANO-STYLE hammer-weighted action. The closer the action is to a real C7, the better.

Does anyone have experience with this controller?? I have read a few things about it that make it look interesting, however, I don't have a local dealer that carries one so I can't demo it myself.

Any opinions or suggestions re: weighted-action controllers is GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
J.D.
Old 16th July 2006
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
I like mine -- a lot -- but not everyone is going to.

I STRONGLY recommend making a trip out of it, if you have to, but definitely checking it out against other 'boards before you decide. Particularly since you're a trained pianist accustomed to 'real' pianos.

I have a 111 year old upright grand -- but since I moved, it's had to live in the packed up garage. (And it needs some repair and retuning, as well.)

I've owned 'plastic' controllers for a couple decades, nothing bigger than 5 octaves, and nothing heavier than the Alesis "semi-weighted" (felt like plastic to me)... the UF8 was a HUGE jump in playability.

At times I can almost imagine I'm playing a real piano (okay, I have to be in the right mood, to be sure -- and it would DEFINITELY help if I had a proper virtual piano insturment).

I tried the M-Audio 88 in the same price range (ugh, is all I can say) and plunked on some digital pianos and controllers in the thousand plus range and I liked the UF8 best. But, really, I was only considering 'boards in the mid-3-figure range, so...

Anyhow, book an overnighter at a Best Western or Motel 6 if you have to, but do try to try out whatever you're looking at.