The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
IN THE BOX vs. out of the box
Old 25th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
IN THE BOX vs. out of the box

hi guys,
i'm new here,
i am a self-teaching producer and mixer on the make.

there is one thing i wanna ask:
is it possible to record, produce and mix a song/album COMPLETELY IN THE BOX and let it sound awesome, punchy, great - industry standard?

i only have an MBox 3 and Protools 9 and logic 9 and some Waves Plugins and a few other plugins and no outboard stuff (except my midi keyboard, mic and guitars .. ;-)

I am still not satisfied with the results of my mixes,
so does it make sense at all just to work this way with my Mac?

when i was at the shop once for buying new monitors the guy there said i would not have better results from just better monitors as long as i don't have good outboard devices (another guy refused, by the way)

what do you think?

thanks for answering in advance.
toni

Last edited by toniwater; 25th September 2012 at 02:38 PM.. Reason: grammar/expression
Old 25th September 2012
Gear Addict

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by toniwater ➑️
is it possible to record, produce and mix a song/album COMPLETELY IN THE BOX and let it sound awesome, punchy, great - industry standard?
I would've answered "no" but then you added "industry standard" so the answer is now "yes"
Old 25th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
ok, i meant industry standard in the sense that a good radio would play it.

so you say i cannot make it sound great, punchy and living as long as i am working just in the box?
what is missing then?
Old 25th September 2012
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
when you have a serious background in the analog domain and you know exactly what you want to hear in the final mix the answer is yes. At least that is my personal experience.
Old 25th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
toniwater if you do a search of this site there's volumes written about it.
Old 25th September 2012
70% Coffee, 30% Beer