DAW for $3000 budget
Old 23rd September 2012
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
DAW for $3000 budget

Contest: Create the 'best' post-production DAW with a $3000 budget

Prizes: $15 Amazon E-card Gift

Here are the specifics...

I've already got all of the tracks laid down on my Fostex D1624 (one of the first generation HD recorders). It's got 16 unbalanced RCA outs as well as two ADAT outs (1-8, 9-16).

A laptop needs to be included in the budget. I plan to mix with my Grado headphones (VERY used to their idiosyncrasies). But I also plan to bounce to mixes, burn them, and review them on my roommate's M-Audio EX66s.

So, it looks like I'll need:
- Laptop (don't have a preference as far as PC or Mac)
- Audio editing software (I've got a lot of experience with DP but I am open to other platforms)
- Plug-in bundles
- A/D interface?
- Anything else that might prove handy and work into the budget

I have the feeling that I haven't provided enough information. But I wanted to leave it wide-open so as to permit a diversity of ideas!

I am totally serious about the Amazon gift card! This is really important to me and I'd really appreciate the help. Thanks!
Old 24th September 2012
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by solomoreno ➑️

I've already got all of the tracks laid down on my Fostex D1624 (one of the first generation HD recorders). It's got 16 unbalanced RCA outs as well as two ADAT outs (1-8, 9-16).

A laptop needs to be included in the budget. I plan to mix with my Grado headphones (VERY used to their idiosyncrasies). But I also plan to bounce to mixes, burn them, and review them on my roommate's M-Audio EX66s.

- Audio editing software (I've got a lot of experience with DP but I am open to other platforms)
- Plug-in bundles
- A/D interface?

I have the feeling that I haven't provided enough information. But I wanted to leave it wide-open so as to permit a diversity of ideas!