Cubase 5/Yamaha UX16 Latency issues... - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Cubase 5/Yamaha UX16 Latency issues...
Old 18th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Cubase 5/Yamaha UX16 Latency issues...

I'm going nuts.

I'm new to home recording. I recently picked up a USB-MIDI Interface (Yamaha UX16) (I read on amazon only the UX16 works for Yamaha keyboards) for my Yamaha P95 keyboard, which I'm trying to use as a midi device in Cubase 5. I'm having what seems to be latency issues.

While using the standard ASIO DirectX Full Duplex Driver (whether or not I turn on the moniter option), I can hear the keyboard coming through my speakers when I play it, but at a delay of ~1 second. It's so annoying. I already went on their website and got their latest Driver (I have windows 7 professional 64-bit), but I'm starting to get confused about which Driver I should be selecting in Cubase 5 wnen I plan on using the MIDI keyboard anyway...

I have an interface (Focusrite 2i2) also set up in Cubase 5, in case my built in one isn't good enough and I need to run through a better interface, or whatnot.

Like I said, I'm relatively new, so I've been at this for 5 hours now and still nothing. I can't tell if it's a software issue (Cubase 5), Interface issue (UX16), or hardware issue (Yamaha P95 digital piano). Can anyone please help? X_X
Old 18th September 2012
Gear Nut

🎧 15 years
I doubt that only ux16 works with your piano, but I guess they recommend it as they build it.

That being said, one good thing abou these midi interfaces that come with a custom driver and not USB class compliant ones is that they usually have better midi timing.

Regarding latency, I would say that is up to your audio interface and DAW audio buffer size. Transferring MIDI to the PC won't cause much latency, not does it take a lot of processing. However, using software to produce sound can take a noticeable amount of time of you have these buffers set high.