Noise Suppressors (NS1) - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Noise Suppressors (NS1)
Old 16th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
Noise Suppressors (NS1)

Hey all:

I'm a newly hired sound designer that is poor and in a pickle, can the NS1 help me out? I have a boat load of sfx that all have a lot of noise. I was looking at X-Noise and Z-noise and whatnot, but I don't have $500 to spend right now. I know the difference between them all, but $99 for something I i think will work for my application would be great. Any thoughts. Is there a cheap (under $200) way to get rid of noise, or is NS1 worth it, and will it work in my situations? I also have the Waves Platinum Bundle, and I heard that with C4, you can take a lot out. I'm going to demo NS1 now, but any thoughts on this would be great!!
Old 16th September 2012
Gear Addict

🎧 5 years
NS1 is really useful - it works very, very well - and will get you faster results than fiddling around with X-Noise or Z-Noise.

You should also check out W43: it gives a little more control than NS1 and is especially good at reducing mechanical background noises.

Meanwhile I've always found WNS quite difficult to calibrate but your mileage may vary.

Whilst it's true that multiband compressors like C4 can be used for noise reduction, that only really works if you very carefully calibrate the frequencies and thresholds for each type of sound you're processing -- it won't suit your workflow if you're trying to save time.
Old 16th September 2012 | Show parent
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years