MIDI questions for BFD - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
MIDI questions for BFD
Old 12th June 2006
Gear Head

🎧 15 years
MIDI questions for BFD

Hello,

Complete Midi newbie here. I have programmed drums once or twice with logic. Just got into a copy of BFD Lite for PT 7 and I'm wondering what do I need to do to program drums correctly? I can play a decent kick/snare part with my keyboard but what do I need to actually program drums? Does anyone know of a BFD has an option like Logic's drum programs where you can click the part in opposed to playing it? Anyone know of a BFD tutorial?

One more question. Whats the deal with the flange sound on the drums? They sound great through the monitors when tracking but upon playback their are flangy and off. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 12th June 2006
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Hi ,

You program BFD in the same manner as any other instrument.

So you can play the notes in via keyboard or external drum trigger or indeed with the mouse using the pencil tool in PT.

If you are getting flanging then it sounds like something is also playing from the groove librarian.

Check that respond to groove notes is switched of in the options panel.

Here is a little animated walkthrough to help

http://www.fxpansion1.com/fxstore/bfdguide.html

There is also a demo video on our website here :

http://fxpansion.com/product-bfd-main.php

Scroll to the bottom of the page 'BFD tutorial'

Hope this helps.

Thanks

GFX

FXpansion Audio UK Ltd.
Old 17th June 2006 | Show parent
Here for the gear

🎧 15 years
Is BFD Universal Binary yet?

Hi GFX,

Has BFD been update to Universal Binary yet? So it can run un the new Intel Macs? I am thinking of buying BFD but I am also thinking of buying a Macbook because of the increase processing power which I am sure will help in running BFD.

Thanks
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Hi ,

Yes we have a unibin version available.

Cheers

GFX

FXpansion Audio UK Ltd
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years