The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Yamaha KX88 tech question
Old 4th May 2011
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Yamaha KX88 tech question

I have a Yamaha KX88 as my controller. I removed the spring in the pitch wheel so I could reassign Pitch to CC11 Expression. I did the reassignment in Logic, not on the KX88. However, the pitch wheel has a dead spot right at its midpoint at value 64 , where if you move the wheel a little up and down from that point, it still ouputs a value of 64 until you move it move than about a half inch inch in either direction. Does anyone know how to program the pitch wheel to avoid this? Thanks.
Old 4th May 2011
Lives for gear

14 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
Why on Earth did you do that to the pitchbend? Why not assign CC11 to the mod wheel, or is that defunct? Or the sliders? That's what they are there for.

Anyway, I think it's not possible. I'm no expert, but I think those old '80s keyboards had their system stored in ROM so no flash upgrade. But google it to make sure.
Old 4th May 2011 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by zephonic ➡️
Why on Earth did you do that to the pitchbend? Why not assign CC11 to the mod wheel, or is that defunct? Or the sliders? That's what they are there for.

Anyway, I think it's not possible. I'm no expert, but I think those old '80s keyboards had their system stored in ROM so no flash upgrade. But google it to make sure.
I spent a while on Google, nothing. FYI, Mod is already good with most of my VIs, so don't want to disable that. And nothing beats wheels for smooth data entry for CC11 on instruments such as VSL. I don't like sliders.
Old 26th June 2011 | Show parent

🎧 10 years
I just figured this out. You have to use an arcane hex system to do it.

Hit MODE once to get into CA mode. You should see a blinking CA.

Then hold MODE to get to PA Mode. You should now see a blinking PA.