Quantcast
Pianist needs Help with Choosing Keyboard Live Rig/ Mainstage Questions - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Pianist needs Help with Choosing Keyboard Live Rig/ Mainstage Questions
Old 9th February 2009
Gear Addict

๐ŸŽง 10 years
Pianist needs Help with Choosing Keyboard Live Rig/ Mainstage Questions

Good afternoon - I'm a pianist - now keyboard player in a band and need a live rig! I'm somewhat unimpressed with hardware keyboard sounds after having used Logic for 6 months or so with my Duet - my afternoon at Guitar Center left me fairly uninspired (tried the rd700gx, yamaha s90es, etc..) So, I'm intrigued about going the Mainstage route (vs muse receptor, another option). I want to try to spend less if possible. Here's what I own already - kurzweil sp88, Apogee Duet, 24"iMac with 3GytesRAM, LogicPro installed along with Mainstage. So, I have all that I need to run mainstage really. So, a few Mainstage questions:

(1) Would I be nuts to take my home 24" iMac to gigs? I was using Mainstage yesterday on the iMac and it was working just fine, no stability problems (I have 3 gbytes ram, intel duo, running 10.4.2). Also, THIS OPTION IS FREE - just bring the computer! Any crates/cases for iMacs that would make this safe/feasible? I could just get a 10k external drive & run Ivory and be all set. This option is very cheap and just uses what I already have.

(2) "Take an iMac to gigs??? You nuts - buy a new macbookpro!!" Of course, this costs at least $2500 more than the free "use iMac" option, but is more naturally portable. I'm concerned (based on some apple.com discussions) that I might buy a new mbp, with the newest OS, only to find that the stability I see on my iMac doesn't carry over to the new MBP! And, at that point, I would have bought a MBP for nothing - and blown my "otherwise" keyboard budget on a MBP I don't really need.

Any suggestions - I'd love to hear them!
Old 9th February 2009
Lives for gear

๐ŸŽง 15 years