The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Updating laptop, need advice?
Old 17th November 2022
Here for the gear

Updating laptop, need advice?

Hello all, I hope this is the correct place for this question. I am looking to update my laptop and wondering the best way to go about transferring programs/recording interface and avoid any technical difficulties if possible.

My current setup looks like this:
Computer:
Macbook Pro 2012 (getting a bit long in the tooth and needs to be replaced)

Programs:
Pro Tools 11
Ableton Live 9.7

Interace:
MBox Pro 8x8

This set up has served me well over the years and would like to continue using all of this on the brand new computer.

Because most of these are a few years old and technology moves so quickly, I was wondering if there were any issues I need to be on the lookout for when updating to a new OS. Also what the simplest and quickest ways to get these all up and running on the new computer. (Even though I have been working with audio for almost 2 decades, I am admittedly an absolute dunce when it comes to simple computer problems such as this).

Thank you!
Old 17th November 2022
Lives for gear

2 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...tibility-Chart

ProTools 11 is not supported past MacOS 10.10 Yosemite. Unless your “new” computer is a used machine that is just slightly newer than your current one and runs Yosemite, you will likely be running a machine with a newer operating system. So you will need to make sure you get a newer version of PT that will run on your new machines OS. Also be advised that Avid has largely switched to a subscription model for ProTools software since the days of PT11.

I have no idea if the older MBox interfaces are still supported on current operating systems, so you’ll also want to look into that.
Old 17th November 2022 | Show parent
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by thismercifulfate ➡️
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...tibility-Chart