Quantcast
Motu 828es major issues - no audio playback! - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Motu 828es major issues - no audio playback!
Old 18th July 2020
Gear Head

Motu 828es major issues - no audio playback!

Hi guys, im new to the forums and a new 828es owner, although i have been an audio engineer/musician for nearly 20 years :P

So i am having nothing but issues with my 828es and i am hoping for the love of gia that someone here with experience with the unit can help me...

Ok, when i power on the Motu it confirms its connected via USB2 and the installation of the Motu Pro Audio software went fine and the Motu Discovery app detected the unit with no issuse, also the Motu Pro Audio Control app works no problems... I can plug my bass/guitar into the Motu and monitor the signal with no issues and the talkback mic is picking up signal, so i im pretty sure the hardware is ok. Sadly thats about as far as i've been able to get...

Firstly - Windows detects the Motu as it appears in playback/recording devices and i can select it no probs, HOWEVER, i get no playback from Windows (Youtube/Spotify/Foobar200 ect...) at all, nothing seems to be getting to the Motu and there is no metering/audio on the Motu and if i change the sample rate from within Windows nothing changes on the Motu... (I have checked and made sure the 'From Computer 1-2' is going to the mixer). Changing the device from Motu Pro Audio to Motu Audio 1-24 does nothing to change any of this...

Secondly (and most importantly) - I am getting no playback/metering in Cubase Pro. So in cubse i can select the Motu Pro Audio asio driver, and when i do cubase seems to see the ins/outs of the Motu and i have made sure the in/outs are active in cubase, but when i do the latency shows as either ?? or 0ms (depending on where you look) and like i said i get no metering/audio when i try to play a session, both in Cubase and on the Motu...

Things i have tried so far are: