Quantcast
Waves CLA Mix Hub- First Impressions - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Waves CLA Mix Hub- First Impressions
Old 30th January 2019
Waves CLA Mix Hub- First Impressions

I had the soft tube console one a few years ago. I’ve had Waves SSL forever. I was thinking about getting the console 1 again and here is why:

1) I hate being in plug in tweak land- I mixed a record with 12-13 songs in pro tools and the majority of that time I was second-guessing tweaking plug-ins .

2) i’ve grown to appreciate SSL on almost everything but especially drums .

3) I want to mix with my ears and not my eyes as the cliché goes .

4) I don’t love using the mouse and mixing has felt like a big chore to me .

I’m a late in life pro tools convert which was the one hesitation I had about the soft tube . It’s my understanding that there is still no integration with ProTools?.

Right now the downstairs of my house is being renovated because of hurricane Michael . I have a temporary mix area set up which is the worst possible acoustics ! I’ve had to use a lot of the tone controls on my Genelec monitors.

I got the Mix Hub last night just for fun .

I decided to pull an early version of the song from the album that I mentioned .

From my admittedly limited time on a proper mixing console, my over arching memory from those days is the ability to quickly and intuitively get songs sounding pretty good. I think it’s that that I miss most about outboard gear.

Well I threw the song up and just add it to a handful of instrument groupings .
I find the mix hub to be very intuitive and easy to use in terms of setting up buckets .

I have a ton of waves plug-ins and honestly I had gotten away from them because I’ve discovered sound toys and soft tube - but I believe the mix hub is a new class of waves plug-in .