Hi all.

I was wondering if any of you has experience in composing music for theater.
Not strictly speaking of musical or opera, so not a singed song in the middle of the play but more a soundtrack for the play.
i think that to some extent is the same principle of scoring for films, unless you have more freedom.

There's a lot of thread here about film scoring, but i do really prefer theater and moreover the idea to became a "note factory" ( if you had the chances to ) is not appealing to me.

anyway i don't want to start a debate cinema vs theater

I'm more interested in collecting some experiences and advices

I'm currently done with my first experience, and I'm starting a second one.
Music is not my primary job, so I'm not a pro, but I hope to became it.

I have a quite good music training, and a quite vast music knowledge.
i actually work in the IT so no problem at all with computer and technology.

My first project is something completely "amateur", and it is an adaption from an ancient greek comedy ( lysistrata ) so the music is primarily intended to be sung by the "chorus" on stage.
Plus, we decided to add some music for some particular moments. It is mainly orchestral music with mixed influences. (vsl+sibelius+reaper for mixing)

In this case, the author and director is a friend of mine so I had the chance to have an important amount of freedom and anyway the most part of the job was to create songs, in the end not so complicated.

The other project I'm going to start is quite another level, all the people involved have already some experience and their goal is to became pro. I call it a semi-pro project.
It is something written from scratch, and it will be a mix of theater and modern ballet, and also in this case the author and the director is the same person.