Quantcast
Help understanding M/S stereo collapse anomaly - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Help understanding M/S stereo collapse anomaly
Old 27th January 2013
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
Help understanding M/S stereo collapse anomaly

Just for the record, I don't currently consider myself to be a mastering engineer or advertise myself as such, but I do want to be able to provide a competitive product for budget projects and personal one offs. That said, I did work for a popular mastering engineer and do have practical knowledge and experience on the subject. I'm just getting started on my own so my current (meager) chain is all ITB within ProTools 10HD.

To the point: I have a manually routed M/S chain with a pre and post master prior to my loading tracks. I always place the same plugins in the same positions on both the mid and side tracks to prevent phase issues. I've never noticed anything weird with this setup until using the Wave Arts Multidynamics5 on the M/S tracks... BUT everything is initially fine... it doesn't get weird until I change a crossover or add an additional band on the side track. Once I do one of those, the stereo field kind of collapses and shifts, or maybe better said, the L and R channels seem to blend oddly.

Example: a friend sent me a mix with an out of control highhat panned pretty far to the left, so I go to my Multidynamics5 on my side track and add a band to target the hats... before making any adjustments to the new band the hats immediately moved from the dominate left to kind of ambiguously stereo... it also seemed to kind of shift the entire stereo image slightly to the right. I get the same effect when changing the crossover point of a default band.

Any ideas what's happening here? Any help understanding the problem would be MUCH appreciated. I'm also open to any information or suggestions to manual mid/side processing.

Thank you!!!

John
Old 28th January 2013
Gear Addict

🎧 10 years