Quantcast
What do you care when you want to achieve both loudness and sound quality? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
What do you care when you want to achieve both loudness and sound quality?
Old 23rd September 2012
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years

Hello,

I am a Japanese recording/mixing engineer.
I would really like to learn about the way mastering engineers think.

I think most pop mixes would have drum peaks when they are not L2ed when being sent to you, and say, those drums sound wonderful on your loud speakers. What would you do if you want to keep all of that and still need to make the song loud? Maybe, you need to make illusion?

Thank you.
Old 23rd September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Well, most pop tunes don't have drums. They're almost always sample based, so there's no inconsistencies. Now, contrary to recent popular belief, mix engineers generally don't use hard limiting and especially not the L2. That's something best handled in mastering. If you really want the best quality possible, just get a good sounding mix, forget about making a hot mix.

Doing it yourself, you can have a loud mix or you can have a good mix. You can't have both because as you obviously know, making it loud degrades the sound and the people who listen to your music will just adjust the volume to their comfort level any way. You can leave the mastering to a professional with the knowledge, tools and experience to do the best job possible. He/she will know where to make the best compromises to hide the degradation of your music. It's not something you just can do yourself with a couple of words of advice from some people that don't know what your music is like.
Old 23rd September 2012
Lives for gear

Verified Member
🎧 15 years
Quote: