Quantcast
How come i got higher db bet less volume ? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
How come i got higher db bet less volume ?
Old 21st September 2012
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
How come i got higher db bet less volume ?

Hi there.
Among many things, i am a dubstep producer.
For now I master my tracks by myself.
The loudness war is very popular at this genre and i'm trying to stand at the genre's standards.

The thing is that even though i get higher RMS than some other tracks, they still sound louder.
For example, this is my latest track :

Cubase's audio statics states the the average db for this track is -6.66 (hail Satan).
BUT, when i compare its volume to a reference track from the genre which as for cubase his average volume is -7.29 db, the reference track still sound much louder.

Why is that ?
Old 21st September 2012
Lives for gear

Verified Member
🎧 10 years
Usually it's frequency balance, but also dynamic perception.

Something that is more focused more to where the ear is more sensitive (upper mid range / tops) tends to sound louder for the same RMS levels.
Also a track where the transients have more perceived punch (this isn't necessarily bigger peaks) will also make a track seem louder than one with less punch.

(ps I didn't actually listen to the track...)
Old 21st September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
+1 your frequency spectrum needs to be "balanced" better.
seems to be a lack of low-mids and too much highs.
work on the EQ in the mix a little more and that will help your loudness...
Old 21st September 2012
Lives for gear

A higher RMS doesn't mean its going to be louder necessary. if your mastering an entire cd, your ears are the best tools for you to determine the volume of each song. But you also need to keep in mind the RMS also. But don't rely on the RMS alone.

CJ
Old 21st September 2012
Lives for gear

Verified Member
🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parkinson ➑️