Quantcast
Getting sides back into mids possible? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Getting sides back into mids possible?
Old 20th September 2012
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
Getting sides back into mids possible?

Hi. can the uncorrelated sides go back to the mids correlated again so they are present when the mix is monoed? is it even possible and how would you?

im no pro here so this might be wrong but im thinking that if i took the right and left side of the sides and phase flipped one of them would that now make them correlated again and therefore back in the center? (flamings and face-palms permitted if wrong)

now thats talking about completely getting rid of the sides from the sides back to the middle but is there a way/plugin to just do this a bit as so "to taste"?
all this would be done in the mixing stage for eg. a big unison synth with many detuned voices wont sum to mono as well as id like so id like to rein in the sides without loosing the information thats in them.

Cheers
Kevin
Old 20th September 2012
Lives for gear

Verified Member
🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by kev herb ➡️
Hi. can the uncorrelated sides go back to the mids correlated again so they are present when the mix is monoed? is it even possible and how would you?

im no pro here so this might be wrong but im thinking that if i took the right and left side of the sides and phase flipped one of them would that now make them correlated again and therefore back in the center? (flamings and face-palms permitted if wrong)

now thats talking about completely getting rid of the sides from the sides back to the middle but is there a way/plugin to just do this a bit as so "to taste"?
all this would be done in the mixing stage for eg. a big unison synth with many detuned voices wont sum to mono as well as id like so id like to rein in the sides without loosing the information thats in them.

Cheers
Kevin