Maselec MLA3 vs. TubeTech SMC 2B - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Maselec MLA3 vs. TubeTech SMC 2B
Old 16th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
Maselec MLA3 vs. TubeTech SMC 2B

Hi there..slutz..
Been away for a while..but suddently i got back..
What i need is a multiband..for mastering of course..
Would you tell me your impressions and opinions on these two lads?
What you'd pick up and why..
Whats the different between them (sonically speaking)?
Appreciated..bye
Old 16th September 2012

Verified Member
🎧 15 years
I have the SMC2-B and honestly I don't care for it when it comes to mastering. I use it during mixdown on occasion and there I find it useful. For me the TC M5000 is the multi-band that is the most useful for mastering. I have no experience with the Maselec.
Old 17th September 2012
Lives for gear

Verified Member
1 Review written
🎧 15 years
Maselec, original version. Sounds better than the silver flat knob version...tried both.
Old 17th September 2012
Lives for gear

Verified Member
5 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
i had the tubetech & change to the maselec.
the tubetech is a nice sounding unit with the typical sweet & soft tubetech sound. great to give live into harsh sounding mixes, nice for lifting the highs & often good to control the energy of the lows.
the maselec is much more stright line, very easy to reset, nice for a invisible treatment. very nice shaping of the lows, superfast (if desired) in the hight (a great de-esser), good for fixing the tonal balance.
you can use the maselec on all kind of material, the tubetech fit not allways
Old 17th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years