Quantcast
Create your own sound and forget about reference records? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Create your own sound and forget about reference records?
Old 9th September 2012
Deleted fe72b38
Create your own sound and forget about reference records?

I've just finished mixing a new album and it's come out really great. I'm thrilled.

So I come to do the mastering (I'm only a little cottage industry artist) and I do my usual stuff a little bit of extra excitement using the Sonoris Mastering Compressor in parrallel upward compression (sounds great) a little bit of matching EQ between the track OK, then a touch 1-2 dB of TC Brickwall Limiter.

Sounds really great to me on my K&H 0300 (Avocet controller), about -12dB RMS nice and dynamic.

So then I think, well whats the nearest record to mine, Oh I know Sting's "Brand New Day" - so I stick the album on and I think right that's about 3dB louder and quite a bit brighter.

So then I make a new copy of my montage in Wavelab to experiment making my album up to this reference level of loundness and brightness. Easy to do really. Done.

Then I was looking on Bob Katz Hall of Fame and he talks about Sting's "Brand New Day" and says basically "great album, well recorded BUT about 3dB too loud and too bright!"

Arrrggghh.

So my original mastering session would seem to get Bob Katz seal of approval (which was satisfying) however my second session would appear to compete with a commercial album.

This is not about loudness wars really as BND is not really that loud compared to today, but do I go with my more purist mastering or face the reality of modern records and go louder and brighter.

Is it best to do your own thing or check against commercial competition.

Any thoughts?

tht
Old 9th September 2012
Gear Addict

🎧 10 years