The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
LoudMax is the best limiter...here's why
Old 22nd March 2011
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
LoudMax is the best limiter...here's why

Good morning everyone,

Before I go any further I am NOT an expert nor a mastering engineer. My point here is not to bash other limiters. I am simply curious as to why this happens and if it's something I can fix. The problem with LoudMax is that it only has threshold and output option which is not enough in many cases. I have tried the following limiters:

-Oxford Limiter
-TLs Maximizer
-T-Racks Classic Multiband Limiter (and the new Brickwall Limiter)
-Kjaerhus Audio Classic Mastering Limiter
-Voxengo Elephant 3.6

I know I tried more I just can't remember right now but I'll add as I remember. Ok so now to the point. Why do I say LoudMax is best? Because it seems all the limiters have trouble with the SAME part of a song when pushed hard.

The song is "Fall For Your Type" by Jamie Foxx and Drake. I have attached a short snippet of the part that has trouble. The difficult part is when Drake sings "I just can't explain this **** at all, I just can't explain this **** at all, I believe in people like you." with an effect is on his voice.

LoudMax, when set to -30 threshold (yes -30db) and -2.0 for output, does that part nice and smoothly. But the other limiters I listed, whether at 0db ceiling or -2.0db ceiling, distort it badly...

What does LoudMax do differently? My first guess (not being an expert remember ) was the release time that LoudMax handles automatically. But no, in all the other plugins the release has no effect.

I'd love to hear from the experts on why this happens. It could very well be my mistake somewhere (and if it is, please tell me where I'm going wrong).

Thanks

EDIT: I tested Elephant 3.6 and it had very little distortion on that part but still audible distortion.
Attached Files

DRAKESNIP.mp3 (496.0 KB, 11149 views)

Old 22nd March 2011
Gear Addict

4 Reviews written
🎧 10 years