Mastering on Otari btr-5 - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Mastering on Otari btr-5
Old 23rd November 2009
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
Mastering on Otari btr-5

Hi,

I have a Otari btr-5 and using emtec SM 468 tape.

I did a few A/B test for mastering, made a song with Cubase 5 and recorded (at 15 IPS , EQ is IEC) on the Otari thru AD/DA 24bit 44.1 khz .

Now when i listen to the mastering on the Otari i hear a subtle difference but not that BIG compare to the mastering directly out of Cubase !

I hear and read all about the goods from Tape mastering but for me the difference is minimal !

Is there something wrong with my ears ?

P.L.U.R

Danny.
Attached Thumbnails
Mastering on Otari btr-5-otari-btr-5-studio.jpg  
Old 24th November 2009
Lives for gear

Verified Member
🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekno808 ➑️
Hi,

I did a few A/B test for mastering, made a song with Cubase 5 and recorded (at 15 IPS , EQ is IEC) on the Otari thru AD/DA 24bit 44.1 khz .

Now when i listen to the mastering on the Otari i hear a subtle difference but not that BIG compare to the mastering directly out of Cubase !

I hear and read all about the goods from Tape mastering but for me the difference is minimal !

It's a pretty good machine, 468 is probably one of the best tapes ever made, so the difference shouldn't be too outrageous. It might be educational to really crank the level to tape to hear what a ton of saturation sounds like. Also, after finding the correct point, turn the bias up and down and see what that does to the hi-end, as well.

DC
Old 24th November 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
You know, I keep saying this and being shunned for it but masters from digital sources always sound digital. If you're comming from an analogue source, the difference would be bigger.
Lives for gear

Verified Member
3 Reviews written
🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by wado1942 ➑️