Quantcast
FFT Analyzers not relevant? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
FFT Analyzers not relevant?
Old 28th January 2009
Gear Addict

🎧 10 years
FFT Analyzers not relevant?

hey guys, i read an article about metering and voltages in audio last night in which it was said that the Fast Fourier Analysis is not relevant enough as a visible monitoring tool and that especially software analyzers cant compete with hardware analyzers which can get really expensive very soon if you consider buying a relative good one.. (he explained why but i didnt really got it!) my question to the mastering engineers is if this really applies and if i could go on relying on my Pinguin ! i know in the end you have to let your ears decide but i cant live without my FFT analyzer especially when im studying music or if im doing a little mastering job for a friend. thanks in advance!
Old 28th January 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
I've been mastering for 10 years, and I've never found situation where an analyzer gave me something useful enough to work from. RTAs don't have the resolution to tell you if the midbass is a half dB hot, or if the guitar's midrange presence is stepping on the vocal clarity.

Excellent monitors and well-trained ears are all you need. I've got various metering to idiot-check myself, but 98% of the decisions are purely based on listening.
Old 28th January 2009
Lives for gear

Verified Member
🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by laboso ➑️
software analyzers cant compete with hardware analyzers
I don't think it's true. Have you got the source?
Old 28th January 2009 | Show parent
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAzevedo ➑️
RTAs don't have the resolution to tell you if the midbass is a half dB hot, or if the guitar's midrange presence is stepping on the vocal clarity.
Great words of wisdom there.

--Ethan
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years