Quantcast
is this possible in mastering? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
is this possible in mastering?
Old 23rd January 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
a question to the mastering engineer

I have a mastered version of an album I mixed which I think is really solid.

aside from the obvious remix route, is there a way to tame overheads that are a bit too loud at rocking sections? would a mastering engineer use a multi-band compressor or de-esser to do this only at certain areas where this might be happening?

I understand this might impact frequencies/dynamics of other instruments in the same range.

also, as a mastering engineer, if I aksed for a more vintage EQ treatment, is that something that makes sense to you?

I like the energy of my mastered tracks but I'm scared the top end, although smooth sounding, might be too shimmery whereas the vibe of this record is a little dirtier.

I'm curious what can be accomplished without a mix recall.

thanks.

oto
Old 23rd January 2009
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
It might be possible, depends on the material. I think, without hearing the material, remix would give the best result. Have you asked the ME who mastered your album what he/she thinks about that?

Cheers,
Lives for gear

Verified Member
13 Reviews written
🎧 15 years
If you feel the overheads are only a little too loud, taming them in mastering is most likely not a problem. Been there, done that.

Usually a touch of de-essing in combination with EQ (if there's some annoying whizz going on) goes a long way. If it's in a certain part of the song, then I'd touch just that and nothing else.
Old 23rd January 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years