The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Best Analog Tape Emulation 2018 (Hardware)
Old 4th October 2018
Lives for gear

Verified Member
5 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
Best Analog Tape Emulation 2018 (Hardware)

as no digital tape emulation really satisfies me and i have little experience with hardware tape emulations, i would like to ask in the round what you think 2018 is the best emulation you can get and if it really is "masterung grade".

spontaneously, anamod ats-1 (which machines and tapes are best?), portico 542, fatso and sound skulptor come to mind.

what are the experiences?

i'm not looking for a budget solution, but a good one, even if it costs a little more.
real tape is not an option for me (I already had enough tape machines in my life)

please only discuss about hardware, i really know the plugins.
Old 4th October 2018
Lives for gear

The Fatso I love as a parallel box on drums or synths in a mixing contest. For mastering or stereo bus work, I didn't feel enough control over the transformer saturation and bottom boost, and the HF limiter (warmth) also not adjustable enough. Basically it's a bit heavy handed and may only help in making things sound noticeably grungy and crunchy-textured - who knows though, it may be perfect for certain mixes, but surely isn't subtle or universal. I see it more as a toolbox with some tape-inspired features but it doesn't sound like recording to 2" or 1/2" to me.

The RND542 (only used their 500 series modules not the earlier 5042) also don't quite sound like tape but are very nice and can be subtle thanks to the blend control. Again these are killers to use when tracking or mixing (try on vocals, bass, yea!) but maybe a bit much for mastering glue. The soft clip that kicks in after a certain point is nice on drums or percussion, but the overall frequency curves at both 15 and 30ips modes may change a finished mix too much and need compensation. A pair may also be a bit fiddly to line up for stereo.