Help me plan out my low-end room? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Help me plan out my low-end room?
Old 16th July 2014
Gear Maniac

🎧 5 years
Help me plan out my low-end room?

Alright so I'm an absolute newbie to recording
Skip all the year-long learning process, I'm looking to come up with a low-end room that can produce good quality vocals. All I need is vocals.
That being said, I've had a bit of time to do a lot more research than before now that I'm out of school and I've been making some money so I've decided to finally get this started.
It's safe to say with this setup I'm not satisfied in the slightest.

Right now my vocal chain is looking like:
ADK TC - 7-pin cable - Tube - Generic XLR Cable - Mbox 2 - Macbook

This is all equipment I've had for a year and right there I can tell you I need a preamp and a better quality XLR.
My room isn't bare and it doesn't echo but it's not treated acoustically. I have a reflective shield but I'm not sure if that'd be considered enough.

Right now my priority is to buy a preamp, I was thinking of the Auteur or the RNP, had another eye on the MPAC-01 or I was thinking maybe I'd save up a bit more for the Grace m101.

So I think my real question is whether I should invest in a preamp first, a new cable, or if I should be worried about treating my room acoustically. I don't even have monitors am I wrong for that??
Old 16th July 2014
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
I would say priority one would be to treat the room. Second would be to buy some decent near-field monitors. You can track with headphones but I wouldn't recommend mixing down with them.

I would put the preamp as last on the list of priorities.......just my .02 worth.

Best of luck to you!
Old 16th July 2014
Gear Maniac

2 Reviews written
🎧 5 years
Firstly, do you have any recordings you could show us? We could tell you more precisely what route to go down for improving your recordings.