Quantcast
Bought a Focusrite ISA One, but... - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Bought a Focusrite ISA One, but...
Old 11th March 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Bought a Focusrite ISA One, but...

I'm having issues with it, and I need some help. My disclaimer is that I'm still a noob at this.

My current setup is as follows: Shure SM7B/Rode NT2-A >> Focusrite ISA One >> Presonus Audiobox USB >> USB Port on my computer into REAPER.

The issue I'm having is that I'm getting too much gain. I'm using the Presonus purely as an input for the computer, as the ISA One has no USB port. All of my levels on the Presonus are zero'd out, so I shouldn't be getting any extra signal from that. Or so I think.

I have to lower the gain on the Focusrite pretty much to zero in order to keep the vocals I'm recording from clipping. And in doing that, the resulting recordings sound dull and lifeless.

I'm suspecting that even though I have the levels on the Presonus all zero'd out, I'm still getting gain from that device before it goes into the computer. The VU meter on the ISA isn't showing clipping, yet, I'm getting clipping in my resulting recording.

Any one have any advice/tips/insight into this? I'd like something to go on before I go out and spend more money on more hardware that might not solve the problem.

Thaankss!
Old 11th March 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
Hi, I checked the Presonus audiobox usb and if I'm not mistaken it has no line in level input.
Only mic input and instrument input.
You need to connect the ISA one out to a line level input.
So an interface that has line in next to mic and instrument in.

Good luck
Old 11th March 2014
Gear Nut

🎧 5 years
Take a look at your gain settings on both the interface and the preamp.

On the Isa one you have two different gain settings.

0db - 30db and 30db - 60 db.

The isa also has a trim pot so its definitely something that can be fixed.
Old 11th March 2014 | Show parent
Gear Addict

🎧 5 years
Quote: