Newbie Home Studio Upgrade Help - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Newbie Home Studio Upgrade Help
Old 6th March 2014
Here for the gear

๐ŸŽง 5 years
Newbie Home Studio Upgrade Help

Hi everyone!

I am new to recording and have a limited budget so I am afraid of spending money in the wrong places as I upgrade. And most importantly, I don't really know what I'm doing yet or what pieces of gear will give me the most bang for my buck so I am hoping some of you pros out there can point me in the right direction.

Goals:
I would like to be able to make a decent demo quality recording in the short term, and eventually grow into a setup that I could start a semi professional project at home. I plan on recording guitars, bass, and vocals; mostly metal/hard rock

Current Gear (I am going to include everything as I'm not sure what information is most relevant):

Avid Mbox 3 mini with pro tools express
M-Audio AV 40 Monitor Speakers
Sony MDR7506 Headphones
GLS Audio ES-57 Microphone
AKAI LPK25 laptop keyboard
LiveWire 1/4" 12 gauge speaker cables
Monster Cable 1/4" Straight Instrument Cables
Dell XP Laptop

I also have a Laney IRT15H that has a DI socket which will be my main recording amp until I get some sound proofing done; not sure if that makes a difference on recording gear choice.

Budget:

I'm planning on investing 200-300 bucks a month for the foreseeable future.

I will be upgrading to a mac mini within the next month or so and I would like to stick with pro tools as I eventually want to start working with the full version.
Other than that I'm not really married to anything, but I just don't know where I should start upgrading.

Should I get an external preamp? I need a condenser mic for vocals (I think), but with the Mbox mini is there a ceiling to what kind of sound I can get even with a mid range mic? Do I need something with more than one recording channel?