Quantcast
Questions regarding audio cables, sub and headphone impedance. - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Questions regarding audio cables, sub and headphone impedance.
Old 18th January 2013
Here for the gear

๐ŸŽง 5 years
Questions regarding audio cables, sub and headphone impedance.

Hi.
These might sound like pretty noob questions but I'm rather new to this and don't wanna make any mistakes when I do my purchase you know, don't wanna send anything back. Better be safe than sorry.

Sadly, something's wrong with my 5.1 speaker system and it's out of warranty so I need new speakers.

I'm looking to buy the Focusrite 2i2 soundcard, a sub and Focal CMS50. I actually wanted to buy the CMS 40 to save money but yeah, the RMS is too low IMO.

First off, I assume speakers/subs don't come with cables right?
Second, the Focusrite has 2 balanced TRS outs. I need to connect that to the input of the sub, and then the output of the sub to the input of the speakers? So 4 cables right?

The specification sheet of the CMS sub says about the output: "Male 3 pins XLR in parallel on inputs." What does that mean, "parallel"?

The specification sheet of the Focal CMS 50 doesn't say whether its input is female or male. I imagine it's female right?

So I need two TRS to male XLR cables to go from soundcard to sub (output to input,) and then 2 female to male XLR cables to go from sub to speakers (output to input)? Right?

But on Thomann the only female XLR to male XLR cables are in the "Microphone cables" section...? I don't get it. Or do I have to disregard that. (Cordial cables, I imagine they are good enough.)
For example, the Cordial CCM 2,5 FM. I imagine all Cordial cables are balanced right? It's just not mentioned in the description.

A 1/4" jack is the same as TRS right?