Quantcast
Recording Cello with limitations - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Recording Cello with limitations
Old 6th January 2013
Gear Addict

🎧 5 years
Recording Cello with limitations

I want to record a cello, but have several limitations...

1) Have to record at home in untreated rooms (large bedroom, bathroom, or walk-in closet)
2) Budget equipment:
  • Focusrite Saffire 40 Pro interface/preamps
  • ART Dual Tube Pre preamp
  • Shure SM57
  • Shure SM58
  • Audio-Technica ATM25
  • MXL 990 condenser (large diaphragm)
  • MXL 991 condenser (pencil)
  • Karma Silver Bullets

I've been told that room is even more important than usual when recording bowed strings. Are there ways I could arrange a bedroom to make the best out of the acoustics for a cello?

Also, what do you recommend for mic placement? I was thinking of maybe the ATM25 near the bridge pointed up, and then the 990 a foot or so away from the body. Thoughts? I have no experience recording bowed strings.
Old 6th January 2013
Lives for gear

Is there any way to get another atm25? Or to borrow a pair of quality sdc's (km184, Beyerdynamic mc930, etc?) the cello doesn't really need 2 different perspectives, unless you are in a big room and the second perspective is a room perspective. I would use a pair of sdc's, spaced about 20-30cm and parallel to one another, a few (3-5) feet in front of the instrument. Treat the room as much as possible to kill the bad reflections, which are what will kill your sound. Pan these 2 mics hard L and R and the sound will be fabulous.
Old 6th January 2013
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
Could you tell us a little more about what you are working on? How you want to record it will really depend on how you want it to fit into your mix.
Old 6th January 2013 | Show parent
Gear Addict

🎧 5 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by king2070lplaya ➑️
Is there any way to get another atm25? Or to borrow a pair of quality sdc's (km184, Beyerdynamic mc930, etc?)