Headphones for mixing - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Headphones for mixing
Old 17th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Headphones for mixing

Hey

I want to buy new headphones for producing/mixing, i know that i should use good monitors but cant afford them yet, so for now i focus on headphones.

I can pay max 120Β£ , i want them to be "flat" , dont want any bass boosters etc.

Any suggestions?
Old 17th September 2012
Gear Addict

🎧 5 years
I am no expert, but I like my AKG k240s headphones. They seemed to be the most "flat" when I tested them out against similarly priced headphones (such as the sennheiser hd280s).

K 240 Studio
Old 17th September 2012 | Show parent
Gear Nut

🎧 5 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80SR ➑️
I am no expert, but I like my AKG k240s headphones. They seemed to be the most "flat" when I tested them out against similarly priced headphones (such as the sennheiser hd280s).

K 240 Studio
x2 I love my AKG 240. Everything translates really well
Old 17th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Nowdays you can find really good headphones for mixing and producing.
Check out Beyerdynamic DT770 pro (close type) and Beyerdynamic DT 990 pro(open type) headphones. They are very good headphones. The price starts from 180 USD on line.

P.S I have listen even very famous tracks that were mixed with that headphones.But it depends on you. You should understand the headphones that you use, then you can get good sound.
Old 17th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
About the AKG 240, these are 55 OHMS right? Won't i need amp for them?

I also consider Audiotechnica ath-m50 , anyone own them?
Old 17th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
I like the Sennheiser HD280's
Old 17th September 2012
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
+1 for the 240's. Not running them through a dedicated amp, just the headphones output on my monitor station. Also runs fine from the onboard soundcards headphone output on my comp

Sent from my HTC One X