Quantcast
Is it me? Or is it my gear? (An endless route to a better mix?) - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Is it me? Or is it my gear? (An endless route to a better mix?)
Old 15th September 2012
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
Is it me? Or is it my gear? (An endless route to a better mix?)

I'm not going to lie, I'm obviously a n00b - but I don't think I should be at this point. Am I aiming to high?

My story: I've been working with music for many years now, started out as many others as a guitarist, but worked my way into engineering and mixing - and about 1,5 years ago I took the step to actually invest some serious cash in my studio.

My problem: I'm a perfectionist, I know how the gear work, I know what I like and don't like. When it comes to recording I mean that I have good control over what's going on. It's not like this is the first time I do this. Come mic positioning, come gain staging, come "pre-mic-sound".. I feel I have it all under control. But still - When I enter the mixing stage nothing turns out like I imagined

My gear: Obviously there are always some piece of gear out there that will make the world a better place - and I keep a close eye on what going on out there and my list of wishes are long, but still I don't think that the gear is the problem in mixes.

Right now my setup is: A mixed variety of different microphones (typical industry standard) - Cubase 5 - Audient mic pres - KS Digital Monitors - Dangerous Music summing and Monitoring - Lynx Aurora Converters - Different Softunbe plugins + stock Cubase plugins. This surely can't be the problem!

Come recording: I mostly record metal (type extreme) and last week I was recording some guitar and drums with a friend of mine, just for practice/fun. Just recorded some random drums I could record some guitars over. Phase - check. Sound in the room - check. Gain staging - check. Happy with the raw sound? YES!