Quantcast
I need help!! To compress or not? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
I need help!! To compress or not?
Old 12th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
I need help!! To compress or not?

Hi, I'm from Nigeria and I've been following threads here to guide me when I want to buy any instrument.
In Nigeria, much of the recordings are done on a pretty basic level, although we can come up with pretty amazing results sometimes and that brings me to my question: why do I have to compress? What effect does it have on the overall sound quality of a mix? I have no external compressor in my studio and I have no idea how to hook one up even I manage to purchase it.

Quite frankly, the terms used to describe things here can get me lost cos I'm a newbie and I know I have a lot to learn....which is why I joined in the first place....to learn.
Thanks all!!
Old 12th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
If you are recording in a 24 bit system, there is little reason to compress any signal to protect dynamic range, which was the original reason that the compressor was invented. Now you can record uncompressed and make compression decisions (often software compressors) in the contest of the mix to make things sound better, which was not an option when we were all using analog tape with it's limited dynamic range.

However, on the high end of things, many hardware compressors impart their own sound or mojo to a track, and so you'll find some top engineers tracking through certain compressors as a matter of course, often not really adding much compression, just looking for that extra sound warpage that some high end, high dollar hardware compressor or another brings to the table.

On the low end, I would not do it.
Old 12th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Thanks man, that was quite helpful, at least I won't be bothering myself with that anymore!
I have tons of questions I'd love to get answers to.....could you still help?