Noob question about Mytek AD/DA - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Noob question about Mytek AD/DA
Old 13th June 2006
Here for the gear

🎧 15 years
Noob question about Mytek AD/DA

Hello I'm a noob.

What's the best way to connect a Mytek Stereo96 ADC and DAC to my laptop? Seems that all the firewire cards come with preamps, converters, etc... Is there something like a Lynx AES16 but firewire? Thanks.
Old 13th June 2006
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightrupert
Hello I'm a noob.

What's the best way to connect a Mytek Stereo96 ADC and DAC to my laptop? Seems that all the firewire cards come with preamps, converters, etc... Is there something like a Lynx AES16 but firewire? Thanks.
Any kind of Firewire audio interface that has an S/PDIF or an AES digital input and output. MOTU has several. So do serveral other companies.
Old 13th June 2006
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Hello I'm a noob.

Do you already have the converters? Also, which laptop do you have? Thanks.
Old 13th June 2006 | Show parent
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
the best way to get a low latency and stable solution is to get a card bus system from RME

you need PCM/CIA slot in your laptop

narco
jdg
Lives for gear

24 Reviews written
🎧 15 years
rme digiface with the cardbus
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 15 years
cheap firewire dongle

If you're on a machine that won't take cardbus (like an iBook), you could buy a cheap firewire interface, like the M-Audio Firewire Audiophile, and use the spdif ins/outs for the Mytek converters.

Then, you have two in/out of excellent conversion running over firewire.

The unit currently streets for around $150. I used to have one, and the drivers/software is solid.

- Jim
Here for the gear

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by atticus
Do you already have the converters? Also, which laptop do you have? Thanks.