more mic pre questions - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
more mic pre questions
Old 7th June 2006
Gear Head

🎧 15 years
more mic pre questions

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum but I have been reading up for a few weeks now and I have definitely become a huge gearslutz fan and I have learned a ton in just a short time. But now I'm onto some specific questions so I figured I would throw them out there and see what suggestions I can get.

Here goes:
I'm a student studying music production but I'm also thinking about buying some of my own gear soon and I have some specific questions about mic pre's. I have access to a 8-channel pre when I need that many inputs but I am looking to get a either a single or dual channel pre in the lower price range for Vox and probably some guitar and bass. I like the idea of a pre that possibly would have compression built in so that I don't have to buy another outboard compressor, so what are some suggestions on a pre with compression built in???

I am also not opposed to an outboard compressor to go with a pre if it isn't going to be too spendy like $400 for the pre and compressor together.

Next question is that I also have seen a lot of digital outputs on pre's and I use ADAT out on the 8-channel focusrite that I have access to, but what I want to know is if I can trust a lower end A/D converter in a mic pre even over the coverter in the 002 rack if I had went analog. So basically should I even consider going digital out if possible to an 002 rather than going analog and using the 002 converters?

Thats all for now
Thanks in advance!!!
Old 7th June 2006
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years