Quantcast
Electric Guitar Strings? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Electric Guitar Strings?
Old 7th February 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Electric Guitar Strings?

I currently have an Epiphone Les Paul right now, but I am trading it in and buying a new Fender Strat at GC in a few days. I've always heard that strings make a HUGE difference on any guitar and new guitars always come with ****ty strings. Well, I'm willing to dish out some money to buy some good strings to go with my new guitar. I am a super noob beginner when it comes to guitars so I was wondering what strings should I buy? Should I buy from GC or online?

Also, I have a question relating to my playing. When I'm playing a lead that only involves the A and D string, my low E strings always seems to vibrate and makes noise. I never touch it, it just starts to vibrate because of my playing I guess. It makes noise, which makes my playing sound sloppy. How do I prevent this from happening? It seems the guitar is very sensitive, when I lift my finger off a note, it ALWAYS makes a sound.. I have to let off VERY VERY soft for it to make no sound.. how do ppl do that when they're playing at a medium/fast speed? I've been playing for about a month now. Any help?
Old 7th February 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by TYPHY ➑️
I currently have an Epiphone Les Paul right now, but I am trading it in and buying a new Fender Strat at GC in a few days.

Also, I have a question relating to my playing.
Don't buy a different guitar now. Learn to play the one you have. When you are a better player and understand more about playing and what affect the instrument will have, -then- search around and see if you need a new guitar. Quite a few very good players are perfectly happy with the Epiphone LP. You've been playing for a month? Keep at it.