Quantcast
Better Kick - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Better Kick
Old 31st July 2005
Here for the gear

๐ŸŽง 15 years
Better Kick

I have been doing sound locally for about 3 years. The setup is anywhere form 3 to 6 bands, 1hr each. One of the things that I have noticed that I would like to improve is the sound of the various kick drums. I could easily install a trigger onto the kick when I am installing the microphone. Then I could mix the direct input with the triggered input to get a better sound out of it.
My question: is there a sampler or some other device that when triggered will let me adjust the sound that comes out of it? I do not need a unit that gives me every sound a drum set can make, (for $1800) just something simple for a kick drum.
any ideas?

thanks
Old 31st July 2005
Lives for gear

๐ŸŽง 15 years
have you tried the sub-kick....
i have two now....one for the b-15 and one for the kick
both purchased in the last three months............
they've been a big hit with a lot of experienced engineers....
there's not much else i know of for $249 that has made
so many people so excited - it works out to about $40 per engineer.....
in your case, with live sound and lots of bands, you might
get that down to $ 3 per drummer.......

be well

- jack
Old 2nd August 2005 | Show parent
Lives for gear

๐ŸŽง 15 years
I've used Alesis D4's in the past, it's not a great unit, and the sounds kind of suck, but it does have some kick settings that work in a live setting:

Alesis D4

Just run your kick mic into it, then take the output to another channel of your board and mix it in.

I wouldn't do it on a recording (ok, I have and no one ever noticed), but live it's a super easy quick fix for under $200
Gear Maniac

๐ŸŽง 15 years
Hey.