Buying a mic and seting it up - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Buying a mic and seting it up
Old 9th February 2009
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
Buying a mic and seting it up

Hello gearslutz,

A friend of mine is looking into buying a cheap studio quality microphone and he's asking me for help. The problem is: I can't help him.

I've been searching around trying to find answers to my questions however these simple questions seem to be common knowledge for everyone else and I can't find any answers. I have only just recently joined the producing scene in my bedroom over the internet and I am just beginning to use hardware. And I know nothing about it. Well I'm not sure if any of that information was necessary, at least you know where I'm coming from.

What kind of mic? Ribbon, dynamic, or condenser? Do I need a soundcard to route the mic to the computer? Do I need a preamp? How do I hook the mic up to the computer (with a sound card, without, with a preamp)? How much will this equipment cost to get a good job done?

Some more info:

My friend wants to record hip-hop, Jay-Z style is the only way I can think of it. However I would like to use it too. To record my own samples of outdoor and indoor FX. We aren't selling any of the music or samples. Just a learning experience. We don't have a real budget but we're hoping to set up for under $400.

All help is greatly appreciated,
zaporzan

PS: I originally posted this is the "So much gear, so little time!" thread and I was told I'd find more answers here
Old 9th February 2009
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
Did you use the search function on this site yet? This forum is pretty much full of the exact same question.

There's a Rap/Hip Hop production forum too, might want to pop over there and read some of the similar threads.
Old 9th February 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
believe it or not you can use a mic pre in an old cassette dek that costs nothing.
look for my mumrap mp3 i posted on gs.