Quantcast
What $300-under Mic Pre Amp will compliment a Shure SM7B mic? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
What $300-under Mic Pre Amp will compliment a Shure SM7B mic?
Old 8th February 2009
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
What $300-under Mic Pre Amp will compliment a Shure SM7B mic?

I'm a start by saying I like this forum and people here provide good info. and help. I appreciate it. My question is as the title states, Is there a good Mic Pre, $300-under that will best compliment a Shure SM7B Mic? Do I need a new Mic Pre Amp? I have a Focusrite Trakmaster Pro Mic Pre. I haven't tried it out with the Shure SM7B mic yet. (I have to find my power supply for the Focusrite Trakmaster.) Keep in mind I'm doing underground Hip Hop. (The Old 90s boom bap stuff.) So I'm looking for those warm vocals. Nice mid and low range. Don't really know a lot abot Mic Pre Amps or Microphones. In advance I appreciate the help.
Old 8th February 2009
Gear Addict

🎧 15 years
I can highly recommend the Golden Age Project Pre-73.
It is a clone of the classic Neve 1073 Mic Pre and it is roughly within your budget, or maybe a tiny tiny bit more. It sounds really good and has a ridiculous price tag for the quality of the unit. I think what it does is what you're after!

Golden Age Music index

update: I checked the price, as of today it would be about $320.
Old 8th February 2009 | Show parent
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
I don't mind going over $300 to $340 if its worth it. I love that classic, vintage, analog sound. So I will definately check this out. I grately appreciate it.
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
I had some great results with the SM7b and an M-Audio Tampa.
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
Thanks. Hmm. I will check both out and compare the two. Any other suggestions? Appreciate the replies.
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years