Quantcast
On Microphones - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
On Microphones
Old 4th February 2009
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
On Microphones

Hi All - I'm rather new to this but thought I would share my recent microphone experience, and echo what others have said.

I was in the market for a fairly cheap LDC for male vocals only, for home recording. I read a number of reviews and forum postings etc, and ended up taking two on test, being an Audio Technica AT4033a for £200, and a SE5600 mkII for £400. I also wanted to test a Rode NTK, but they didn't have it in at the time.

Anyhow, I got them home and A/B'd them with our singer, and compared them to some recordings we had done on a vintage U87 (£3,000) at a studio recently and found a number of things:

1) They both sounded very different, with the U87 striking me as something of a middle ground in sound between the two, having the good parts of both.
2) They both suited different mixes and songs differently (without EQ that is)
3) The U87 mic sounded the best, and sat "right" in the mix straight out of the box with no EQ, whereas the other two needed some EQ to get them to sit right, however once it was there, they sounded fine in the mix and you would not say that the Neumann was better, just different (and easier to work with)

I am going with the AT4033a - which is irrelevant for the point I am making, which is:

You have to try the damn things out!

Whilst admittedly if you buy a 3 grand mic, it is likely to sound great, this is also a function of the acoustics of the recording space.

But, if you are not able to buy such a mic or record in such a space, you really have to experiment to see how they perform with not only what you are recording and where you are recording it, but also I find in the context of the mix which you are trying to sit them in, which is a function of your musical style, other instruments in the mix, and also how you want your end result to sound.